Do I need a Visa to get into Bali?

Yes, you do need a Visa to enter Bali, Indonesia, unless you come from one of the countries on the Visa Exemption Arrangement (VEA) list. Otherwise, you are allowed to enter Bali and apply for a Visa on Arrival (VOA) online before arrival if you are on the VOA-approved countries list.

An excellent alternative to the VOA is a Single Entry Visa (B211A) that is valid for 60 days and can be renewed twice for a total possible stay of 180 days. After that, you can apply again while still in Bali for a further possible 180 days.

You can also read my posts on vaccination requirements for Bali and Expert Tips for Arriving at Bali Airport.

Visa Exemption Arrangement (VEA)

If you come from one of the 9 lucky countries with a Visa Exemption Arrangement you don’t need a Visa to enter Bali. It’s only valid for 30 days, and unlike the VOA or B211A, it cannot be extended and is for tourism purposes only.

  1. Brunei Darussalam 
  2. Cambodia
  3. Laos
  4. Malaysia
  5. Myanmar
  6. Philippines
  7. Singapore
  8. Thailand
  9. Vietnam

New! Electronic Visa on Arrival

Outstanding news for travellers to Bali, you can now apply for your VoA electronically before arrival, avoiding the long queues that slow your arrival down.

You can apply for e-VOA 14 days before your travel and at least 48 hours before your departure.

You can apply for your eVOA here.

Visa on Arrival (VOA)

Passport holders from the following list of eligible countries can get a VOA that is valid for 30 days and can be extended once for a further 30 days for a total possible stay of 60 days, although this does involve a painfully long-winded appointment at the Immigration Office.

If you are thinking of staying in Bali for longer than 30 days I recommend you apply for a Single Entry Visa (B211A) before you travel.

How much does a VOA cost?

The VOA cost IDR 500.000 (approx. USD $33.50) per person including children and is payable upon arrival at Bali Airport by MasterCard, Visa or Indonesian Rupiah. If using another currency it may be charged at the prevailing rate of exchange. 

Be warned, the queues can be brutally long.

VOA Approved Countries List

Passport holders from the following countries are eligible to apply for a VOA upon arrival at Bali Airport. VOA is for a single Entry into Bali/Indonesia, for a  stay of up to 30 days and can be extended for a maximum 1 time at the local Immigration Office for a fee. 

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Argentina
  4. Australia
  5. Austria
  6. Bahrain
  7. Belarus
  8. Belgium
  9. Bosnia
  10. Brazil
  11. Brunei Darussalam
  12. Bulgaria
  13. Cambodia
  14. Canada
  15. Chile
  16. China
  17. Colombia
  18. Croatia
  19. Cyprus
  20. Czech Republic
  21. Denmark
  22. Ecuador
  23. Egypt
  24. Estonian
  25. Finland
  26. France
  27. Germany
  28. Greece
  29. Guatemala
  30. Hong Kong
  31. Hungary
  32. Iceland
  33. India
  34. Ireland
  35. Italy
  36. Japan
  37. Jordan
  38. Kazakhstan
  39. Kenya
  40. Kuwait
  41. Laos
  42. Latvia
  43. Liechtenstein
  44. Lithuania
  45. Luxembourg
  46. Macau
  47. Malaysia
  48. Maldives
  49. Malta
  50. Mexico
  51. Monaco
  52. Morocco 
  53. Myanmar
  54. New Zealand
  55. Norway
  56. Oman
  57. Palestine
  58. Panama
  59. Peru
  60. Philippines
  61. Poland
  62. Portugal
  63. Qatar
  64. Romania
  65. Russia
  66. ​Rwanda
  67. San Marino
  68. Saudi Arabia
  69. Seychelles
  70. Serbia
  71. Singapore
  72. Slovakia
  73. Slovenia
  74. South Africa
  75. South Korea
  76. Spain
  77. Suriname
  78. Sweden
  79. Switzerland
  80. Taiwan
  81. Thailand
  82. The Netherlands
  83. Timor Leste
  84. Tunisia
  85. Turkey
  86. Ukraine
  87. Uzbekistan
  88. United Arab Emirates
  89. United Kingdom
  90. United States of America
  91. Vatican
  92. Vietnam